Text OKSS to 50555 to donate $10 Text OKSS to 50555 to donate $10

Sibshops

.

Contact Information


Robyn Boswell
State Coordinator
405-271-5700 x47801

robyn-boswell@ouhsc.edu

What are Sibshops?

Sibshops are opportunities for brothers and sisters of children with physical, developmental or intellectual disabilities or mental health concerns, to obtain peer support and education within a recreational context. The workshops are lively, pedal-to-the-metal celebrations of the many contributions made by brothers and sisters. Sibshops acknowledge that being the brother or sister of a person with special needs is for some, a good thing, for others a not-so-good thing, and for many, somewhere in between.   Sibshops are 3 hour events open to school-aged children 5-15, generally held monthly during the school year, offering lively, recreational activities facilitated by trained volunteers.  Information and discussion activities are interspersed with fun games and age-appropriate programming.

Sibshops understand the key role siblings play in providing natural supports for brothers and sisters with special healthcare concerns throughout their life span.

Sibshops are perfect partners for faith-based respite programs.  Check with your local Sibshop to see if they are partnering with a respite program or call the State office for more information.

Sibshops Communities and  Contacts:

Bethany: Jana Wing - jwing@tccokc.org or (405) 470-2260

Claremore: Tonda Ames - tonda-ames@ouhsc.edu or (918) 712-0340

Edmond: Cindy Gould - cindy-gould@ouhsc.edu or (405) 620-7501

Enid: Deana Wilson - deana-wilson@ouhsc.edu or (580) 366-9606

Guthrie:  Brandy Parks - brandy-parks@ouhsc.edu or (405) 431-0709

Guymon : Monica Ronne - monica.ronne@ptsi.net or (580) 380-5383

Muskogee: Kellie Blankenship - hopekidsoutreachkb@gmail.com or (918) 913-5494

Mustang: Janet Wilson - janet-m-Wilson@ouhsc.edu or (405) 595-1958 

Norman/Cleveland County Project Outreach Respite Sibshops -Lesley Scott - normansibshops@gmail.com or (214) 796-4800

Oklahoma City/Bethany: - Amanda Peters - Amanda@stmarksbethany.com or (405) 789-9033

Oklahoma City (South)/North Moore Crossroads Church: Lorry Malcolm - lgmalcom@crossroads.church or (405) 644-4221

Poteau: Kodey Toney - jennifertoney@panama.k12.ok.us.com or (918) 658-5076

Shawnee: Amy Cathey - amy-cathey@ouhsc.edu or (405) 915-3401

Stillwater : Rona Tracy - rkt888@yahoo.com or (405) 880-2634

Tinker AFB: Sharon Noones - Sharon.noones@us.af.mil or (405) 739-2747

Tulsa: Lora Roberts - lorar@ofn.mobi or (918) 227-1797

Serving Hispanic Sibs - gardenia-celaya@ouhsc.edu or 405-534-8000

New Sibshop facilitators and volunteers are needed!  Contact us if you are interested!

 

Statewide Contact:  Robyn A. Boswell - robyn-boswell@ouhsc.edu or (405) 271-5700, X47801

Sibshops is an award-winning program founded by Donald Meyer.  There are over 400 Sibshops world-wide.  For more information on Donald Meyer or Sibshops, feel free to go to:  www.siblingsupport.org. Mr. Meyer is located in Seattle, Washington - he would love to hear from you by calling (206) 297-6368.