asdasd

 

Sibshops

What are Sibshops?

Sibshops are opportunities for brothers and sisters of children with disabilities, special health care needs, and mental health challenges to obtain peer support and education within a recreational setting.

Sibshops are 3 hour events open to school-aged children 5-15, generally held monthly on a Saturday morning, offering lively, recreational activities interspersed with information and discussion activities.

 

Don Meyer’s Sibshop Goals

  • Meet other siblings in a safe and relaxed recreational setting.
  • Discuss common joys and concerns with other siblings.
  • Learn how others handle situations experienced by siblings.
  • Learn more about the implications of their brothers and sisters special needs.
  • Provide parents and service providers the opportunity to learn more about these siblings.

Sibshops realize the importance of listening to children, creating safe places and empowering the siblings.

 

Sibshops Meetings

February Sibshop Events – all begin at 10:00AM to 1:00pm

1st – Edmond: Edmond Public School Special Services Building, 53 E. 12th Street, Edmond, Contact: LaShelle Stanley at 293-9508

8th – Metro Sibshops Valentine Event - Norman: JD McCarty Center, 2002 E. Robinson St., Norman, Contact: Kerri Brooks at 249-1925

22nd – Mustang: Mustang Community Center, 1501 N. Mustang Road, Mustang, Contact: Aietah Stephens at 684-8837

22nd – Oklahoma City: Easter Seals Oklahoma, 701 N.E. 13th, OKC, Contact is: Samantha Pascoe at 239-2525.

March Sibshop Events – all begin at 10:00AM to 1:00pm

1st – Edmond: Edmond Public School Special Services Building, 53 E. 12th Street, Edmond, Contact: LaShelle Stanley at 293-9508

8th – Norman: JD McCarty Center, 2002 E. Robinson St., Norman, Contact: Kerri Brooks at 249-1925

15th – Guthrie: Guthrie Public Library, 201 N. Division Street, Guthrie, Contact: Amanda Fortney at 990-1491

29th – Mustang: Mustang Community Center, 1501 N. Mustang Road, Mustang, Contact: Aietah Stephens at 684-8837

29th – Oklahoma City: Easter Seals Oklahoma, 701 N.E. 13th, OKC, Contact is: Samantha Pascoe at 239-2525.

 

March Sibshop Events – all begin at 10:00AM to 1:00pm

12th – Norman: JD McCarty Center, 2002 E. Robinson St., Norman, Contact: Kerri Brooks at 249-1925

26th – Mustang: Mustang Community Center, 1501 N. Mustang Road, Mustang, Contact: Aietah Stephens at 684-8837

26th – Oklahoma City: Easter Seals Oklahoma, 701 N.E. 13th, OKC, Contact is: Samantha Pascoe at 239-2525.

26th – Guthrie: Guthrie Public Library, 201 N. Division Street, Guthrie, Contact: Amanda Fortney at 990-1491

 

Sibshop Communities and Contacts

Tulsa: Lora Roberts at lora-roberts@oklahomafamilynetwork.org or (918) 227-1797

Enid: Galela Leckie at gleckie70@yahoo.com or (580) 402-5988

Guymon: Monica Ronne at monica.ronne@ptsi.net or (580) 380-5383

Norman: Kerri Brooks at normansibshops@gmail.com or (405) 249-1925

Tahlequah: Todd Self at todd.self@creoks.org or (918) 207-0078

TAFB: Julie Franklin at julie.franklin@tinker.af.mil or (405) 734-5690

Bethany: Audrey Stevens at teamstevens6@att.net or (405)802-8224

Edmond: LaShelle Stanley at anlstanley@hotmail.com or (405) 471-4679

Pryor: Leann Hill at leefrog@msn.com or (918) 232-3408

Stillwater: Rona Tracy at rkt888@yahoo.com or (405) 880-2634

Clinton: Shannon Cagg at Shannon-cagg@hotmail.com or (580) 302-2661

Shawnee: Amy Cathey at amy-cathey@ouhsc.edu or (405) 596-1245

Lawton: April Plumley at april.d.plumley.civ@mail.mil or (580) 442-4916

OKC: Samantha Pascoe at spascoe@eastersalsoklahoma.org or (405) 239-2525

Mustang: Ande Williams at amwilliams1991@gmail.com or (405) 640-5081

Guthrie: Amanda Fortney at Amanda-fortney@ouhsc.edu or (405) 990-1491

Poteau: Kodey Toney at kodeytoney@hotmail.com or (918) 658-5076

  Muskogee:  Kellie Blankenship at hopekidsoutreachkb@gmail.com or (918) 913-5494

Funding Partners:

Oklahoma Developmental Disabilities Council

Children’s Hospital Foundation

Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and

Substance Abuse Services

Sooner SUCCESS

Start a Sibshop in your Community:  Contact Robyn Boswell, State Sibshop Coordinator at robyn-boswell@ouhsc.edu or 405-271-5700 x47801 or visit our website at www.soonersuccess.ouhsc.edu.

This project is funded through collaboration with the Oklahoma Developmental Disabilities Council.

                                                      

oddc_logo