Sibshops

.

Contact Information


Kelly Williamson
State Coordinator
405-593-9266
Kelly-M-Williamson@ouhsc.edu

What are Sibshops?

Sibshops are opportunities for brothers and sisters of children with physical, developmental or intellectual disabilities or mental health concerns, to obtain peer support and education within a recreational context. The workshops are lively, pedal-to-the-metal celebrations of the many contributions made by brothers and sisters. Sibshops acknowledge that being the brother or sister of a person with special needs is for some, a good thing, for others a not-so-good thing, and for many, somewhere in between.   Sibshops are 3 hour events open to school-aged children 5-15, generally held monthly during the school year, offering lively, recreational activities facilitated by trained volunteers.  Information and discussion activities are interspersed with fun games and age-appropriate programming.

Sibshops understand the key role siblings play in providing natural supports for brothers and sisters with special healthcare concerns throughout their life span.

Sibshops are perfect partners for faith-based respite programs.  Check with your local Sibshop to see if they are partnering with a respite program or call the State office for more information.

Sibshops Communities and  Contacts:

Bethany: Jana Wing - jwing@tccokc.org or (405) 470-2260

Guthrie:  Brandy Parks - brandy-parks@ouhsc.edu or (405) 431-0709

Guymon : Monica Ronne - monica.ronne@ptsi.net or (580) 380-5383

Mustang: Janet Wilson - janet-m-Wilson@ouhsc.edu or (405) 595-1958 

Norman/Cleveland County Project Outreach Respite Sibshops -Robyn Boswell - normansibshops@gmail.com or (405) 271-5700 ext 47801

Oklahoma City/Bethany: - Amanda Peters - Amanda@stmarksbethany.com or (405) 789-9033

Poteau: Kodey Toney - jennifertoney@panama.k12.ok.us.com or (918) 658-5076

Shawnee: Ronelle Baker - ronelle-baker@ouhsc.edu or (405) 915-3401

Stillwater : Rona Tracy - rkt888@yahoo.com or (405) 880-2634

Tinker AFB: Sharon Noones - Sharon.noones@us.af.mil or (405) 739-2747

Tulsa: Lora Roberts - lorar@ofn.mobi or (918) 227-1797

 

New Sibshop facilitators and volunteers are needed!  Contact us if you are interested!

 

Statewide Contact:  Robyn A. Boswell - robyn-boswell@ouhsc.edu or (405) 271-5700, X47801

Sibshops is an award-winning program founded by Donald Meyer.  There are over 400 Sibshops world-wide.  For more information on Donald Meyer or Sibshops, feel free to go to:  www.siblingsupport.org. Mr. Meyer is located in Seattle, Washington - he would love to hear from you by calling (206) 297-6368.